|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hi
I run my site on the B2 evo blog software and am getting some strange stats. The recent referers section is telling me I'm suddenly getting a large amount of hits from this gambling site http://pacificpoker.gamblingfoo.com/...idden.web.com/ I don't know them, don't wish to know them, and my site is NOTHING to do with gambling. In fact, it's a TV show fan site. Is this some kind of scam going around the net? What's more is there a way to block these people linking to me? When I visit the page I can't even see a link to my site, (www.smallvillenews.com) Anyone have any clue about this? Thanks for listening Dawn
|
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
Sounds like 'referrer spamming'. They hit your site and put their site as the referrer. Two thoughts. First, they're trying to get you to click on their link out of curiosity. Second, they hope that you'll think they're linking to you and that you'll link back.
It's fairly safe to ignore, although it's irritating. |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hi, Dawn! I know absolutely nothing about the question you're asking. However, I wanted to let you know that I checked out your site and it's really cool. I am a Smallville fan and I'll be sure to keep visiting in the future. Keep up the great work!
|
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
Thanks, Cindy
I have a lot more to add to the site shortly, and may be requiring more space/bandwidth. That is why the amount of hits from these gambling sites is a concern. If the number continues to increase it will take bandwidth I will need for genuine visitors! If it get's out of hand is there any way to have the linking stopped? Dawn |
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
You should be able to block their IP if it's always coming from the same place.
|
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
I'm getting it from four different pages that seem to belong to the same people...it's the weirdest thing...
I'll need to check out if it's from the same IP Thanks
|
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
I found something in the b2 software about deleting and banning hits from spam using keywords. I've used the word 'poker' which was in all the spam I was getting. Hopefully this will help as I've had almost 400 hits from there now :-S
|
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
Love Smallville!I took a peek at your site, Dawn. GREAT JOB! I will have to bookmark it.
|
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
Waste of time blocking the IP, they often change (it's an affiliate run thing), block the domain name through .htacess
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
| Thread Tools | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Weird e-mail problem with the Mac | ledelboy | Shared Hosting Support | 2 | 10-22-2004 06:54 PM |
| weird server setup | brad98 | Shared Hosting Support | 2 | 07-10-2004 03:15 PM |
| [Closed] Please help with a weird problem. | oats | Shared Hosting Support | 2 | 06-30-2004 02:21 AM |
| hidden links | jmgb | Suggestions | 5 | 06-07-2004 09:14 PM |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 AM.










