Go Back   HostGator Peer Support Forums > Public Forums > Customer Reviews

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:10 PM
mwandaw mwandaw is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Neutral Too Much Trouble With SpamCop

I am a reseller using the server with IP 70.84.139.138. Off and on over the past couple of days my clients have complained (loudly) that their email messages were being bounced. When I checked their bounce messages, I found that SpamCop and AT&T was listing the server. A quick trip to http://www.dnsstuff.com/ showed there were others, too.

HG Support told me they only track SpamCop because all of the other RBLs are for making money. (Huh?)

Even if that's true, SpamCop says " In the past 106.3 days, it has been listed 14 times for a total of 11.2 days." That means the server has been listed with SpamCop more than 10% of the time. WAY TOO MUCH!

I am very disappointed with this level of service.

Mike Wilkinson
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-16-2005, 03:04 PM
mwandaw mwandaw is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: Too Much Trouble With SpamCop

BTW - Here's the ticket number: INW-47966-899
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-16-2005, 08:00 PM
GatorBrent's Avatar
GatorBrent GatorBrent is offline
HostGator Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: houston, texas
Posts: 3,006
Default Re: Too Much Trouble With SpamCop

Mike the only way not to get listed in spam cop is to disable email.
If you ever have a problem with any spam list open a ticket and we get it removed.


Every time it has been listed we got it removed the same day, I call that excellent service! If you could shed some light on what more we can do please do so. thank you
__________________
Gators love marshmallows.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-17-2005, 10:16 AM
mwandaw mwandaw is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: Too Much Trouble With SpamCop

Hi Brent,

Thanks for the reply.

You wrote: "If you ever have a problem with any spam list open a ticket and we get it removed." However, that is different than what Aaron wrote in response to my support request to do exactly that:

"Hello,
We follow only spamcop blacklisting. All other listings are for making money purpose. Please contact your ISP for unblocking the blocked ip on following url blacklist.mail.ops.worldnet.att.net.

If you have any more problems or questions please let us know

Warm Regards,
Aaron.
Support Team.
http://hostgator.com/help"

Today the server is not listed on SpamCop, but it is on AT&T's list. (See above). It could be said that they are a for-profit organization, but I say "who cares?" My clients want to send messages to AT&T customers, and they can't.

BTW - AT&T is not my ISP, so I don't have much influence with them.

I understand that you can't track every RBL in the universe, but I had a specific complaint, and AT&T is big enough to be worthy of HostGator's attention.

Thanks,

Mike Wilkinson
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-17-2005, 08:16 PM
GatorBrent's Avatar
GatorBrent GatorBrent is offline
HostGator Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: houston, texas
Posts: 3,006
Default Re: Too Much Trouble With SpamCop

Every spam lists is different on how they operate. We only monitor a few however always work to get removed off all of them when a customer receives a bounce back.

unfortunately a few of the spam lists once listed you cannot get removed or they ignore responses. spews is one of these major scam ones. They actually blocked the entire Internet at one point. (was a very interesting day for hosting companies)


I do not believe ATT uses their own list. Are you still receiving bounce backs from this one?
__________________
Gators love marshmallows.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-18-2005, 06:53 PM
GatorBrent's Avatar
GatorBrent GatorBrent is offline
HostGator Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: houston, texas
Posts: 3,006
Default Re: Too Much Trouble With SpamCop

http://forums.hostgator.com/showthread.php?t=4135 this should help
__________________
Gators love marshmallows.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-19-2005, 06:56 PM
mwandaw mwandaw is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: Too Much Trouble With SpamCop

Hi Brent,

Just a few minutes ago I tried sending a message to an AT&T address. It bounced within a minute, and here is the entire message. (I partially obscured the email addresses before posting.)

=======================

This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

wp.spXXXmann(at)worldnet.att.net
SMTP error from remote mailer after MAIL FROM:<miXXXX(at)gspc.org> SIZE=2006:
host gateway2.worldnet.att.net [12.102.240.23]:
550-70.84.139.138 blocked by blacklist.mail.ops.worldnet.att.net.
550 Blocked for abuse. Please contact the administrator of your ISP or sending mail service.

------ This is a copy of the message, including all the headers. ------

Return-path: <
miXXXX(at)gspc.org>
Received: from user-0c8gju2.cable.mindspring.com ([24.136.79.194]:1422 helo=[192.168.1.100])
by lincoln.websitewelcome.com with esmtpa (Exim 4.44)
id 1Dk9Zc-0005K6-Qe
for
wp.spXXXmann(at)worldnet.att.net; Sun, 19 Jun 2005 18:51:32 -0500
Message-ID: <42B60509.501@gspc.org>
Date: Sun, 19 Jun 2005 16:51:37 -0700
From: Mike - GSPC <
miXXXX(at)gspc.org>
User-Agent: Mozilla Thunderbird 1.0.2 (Windows/20050317)
X-Accept-Language: en-us, en
MIME-Version: 1.0
To:
wp.spXXXmann(at)worldnet.att.net
Subject: Another Test Message From Mike Wilkinson
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1; format=flowed
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit

Hi Phyllis,

Sent on Sunday, June 19.

Some changes have been made to the Good Shepherd website. I want to
learn if those changes will allow me to send you a message from a
GSPC.org email address.

Will you please reply to confirm you received this message?

Thanks,

Mike Wilkinson






Last edited by mwandaw; 06-19-2005 at 06:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-27-2005, 01:27 PM
GatorBrent's Avatar
GatorBrent GatorBrent is offline
HostGator Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: houston, texas
Posts: 3,006
Default Re: Too Much Trouble With SpamCop

Anyone know were this listing can be checked?

worldnet.att.net does not even exist anymore, and I cannot find any information on google.
__________________
Gators love marshmallows.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-04-2005, 01:35 PM
GatorBen
HostGator Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Too Much Trouble With SpamCop

Quote:
Originally Posted by GatorBrent
Anyone know were this listing can be checked?

worldnet.att.net does not even exist anymore, and I cannot find any information on google.
Its part of the RBL, I had a system admin contact them to have it removed, they are slow to respond but it should be removed shortly.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Porsche having engine trouble scottdaman Network Status 2 06-06-2005 04:53 PM
hummer in trouble?? MikeC Network Status 6 01-07-2005 06:26 PM
Mustang continues to get SpamCop blacklisted davoice Shared Hosting Support 3 12-21-2004 08:34 PM
I think everyone has trouble with the support jmgb Customer Reviews 2 07-30-2004 11:55 PM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18 AM.