|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
Can someone please tell me why everytime I visit this forum or your site, I get spyware on my computer?
Company: The Gator Corporation Product: Gator/Offer Companion/Trickler/GAIN Threat: Annyoing Spyware Company URL: http://www.gator.com/ Company product URL: http://www.gatoradvertisinginformati...p/gainfaq.html Company privacy URL: http://www.offercompanion.com/help/p...statement.html Functionality Fills in passwords for you and shows you a lot of ads. Description Upon visit of some Gator related pages, it tries to download and install. According to Tribune Media Services (via http://www.securitynewsportal.com/ via http://www.cexx.org/gator.htm): "Gator tracks the sites that users visit and forwards that data back to the company's servers. Gator sells the use of this information to advertisers who can purchase the opportunity to make ads pop up at certain moments, such as when specific words appear on a screen. It also lets companies launch a pop-up ad when users visit a competitor's Web site." And Gator saves your identity in the HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID section of the registry - good place to hide, if you've got something to hide. Privacy Statement Some information we may collect, use, and associate with your Anonymous ID includes: Which web pages your computer views and how much time is spent at those sites Your response to the ads we display Standard web log information and system settings What software is on your computer Your first name, country, and five digit ZIP code Your GAINware usage characteristics and preferences Information associated with your Anonymous ID is used in any of three ways: a) to offer assistance (e.g. knowing when to offer help filling in a form or adjust your computer's clock), b) to select and deliver installation files for optional new GAINware and/or third party software applications, and c) to deliver advertisements and information to you on behalf of our advertisers who are often competitors of the web sites you are viewing. |
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
You do not actually get spyware on your computer. Since the URL has the word Gator in it, your spyware software thinks that you are visiting a site affiliated with GAIN Publishing. This is an error in the program. HostGator is in no way affiliated with the publishers of that software. I would recommend that you file a bug report with the spyware detection software that you are using so that they can correct it.
-Justin Last edited by Justin; 11-16-2004 at 05:10 PM. |
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
Thank you Justin, this is correct.
You could also try other spyware detection software. Stef. |
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
Ad-aware will do the job nicely and for free.
|
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
Well, there is no spyware distributed by this site. The only thing that we can advise you to do is to use a spyware detection software that is not annoying for you.
- Justin |
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
What it had found was the program that detects keypresses on my cordless kb. As was recommended elsewhere, arm yourself with a good anti-spyware program: ad-aware Spybot Search & destroy Both are free. |
|
#9
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
David |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
| Thread Tools | |
|
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.








