Go Back   HostGator Peer Support Forums > HostGator Peer Support Forums > Shared Hosting Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-24-2004, 09:26 PM
greenman greenman is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Taos, New Mexico
Posts: 37
Angry Spam Block on Eclipse 69.93.47.98

Just tried to email a client, only to have the message returned with the following message:
(client)@comcast.net
SMTP error from remote mailer after MAIL FROM:<william@taoswebwizard.com> SIZE=7834:
host gateway-r.comcast.net [204.127.198.26]: 550-69.93.47.98 blocked by blacklist.mail.ops.asp.att.net.
550 Blocked for abuse. Please send blacklist removal requests to blacklist_comcastnet@cable.comcast.com - Be sure to include your mail server IP ADDRESS.

I emailed support, but thought I'd post here too, in case others are having similar problems. Gonna have to think about this shared IP thing...

William
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-24-2004, 11:18 PM
greenman greenman is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Taos, New Mexico
Posts: 37
Thumbs down Re: Spam Block on Eclipse 69.93.47.98

Honestly... every time I think that the support can only get better, I get something like this:
Hello,

The Url that you have provided "blacklist.mail.ops.asp.att.net" is not a valid url also the IP address to eclipse server is not blocking the following address -- blacklist.mail.ops.asp.att.net

Please check the IP address of the eclipse server is not listed in the SPAMMING issue --
please visit http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml --- ip addess for eclipse server 69.93.47.98

Please let us know if you have any further queries we will be glad to assist you.

Warm Regards,
M****n,
AIM : gatorsupport3
MSN : tech@hostgator.com
YIM : tech_hostgator
If you read my previous message (copied directly from my email to support), I think it's pretty obvious what the action required is...

Not to bash HG, 'cause I love the packages, but I think it's time to do some serious training in support.

Can someone please just take care of this??

William
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-25-2004, 01:26 AM
greenman greenman is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Taos, New Mexico
Posts: 37
Talking Re: Spam Block on Eclipse 69.93.47.98

OK, I've poured myself a little glass of a nice, old merlot. My blood pressure is normalizing. Now, will someone please explain to me what not being listed on spamcop.net's blacklist has to do with the fact that 69.93.47.98 (eclipse) is blacklisted on the comcast.net servers?

This is the third or fourth time I've contacted support (other than the routine bi-weekly please fix the email, stats aren't updating, etc.), and I have to say that Hostgator may have the worst support I've experienced. Perhaps the hurricanes have moved the Bermuda Triangle north??

Without further ado, here is the second response from support:
Hello,
The blacklist of spamcop.net is considered to be the most genuine blacklist and our IP isn't blocked there. Please view the URL-->http://www.spamcop.net/bl.shtml.
Please let us know if you have any further queries we will be glad to assist you.
Warm Regards,
Sandra,
AIM : gatorsupport3
YIM : tech_hostgator
MSN : tech@hostgator.com
This one gets a smiley, 'cause what else can you do?

William
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-25-2004, 08:18 AM
GatorJustin's Avatar
GatorJustin GatorJustin is offline
Banned User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 771
Default Re: Spam Block on Eclipse 69.93.47.98

Greenman, I will get this sorted out for you. I'm sorry for the confusion.

-Justin
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2004, 08:54 AM
greenman greenman is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Taos, New Mexico
Posts: 37
Default Re: Spam Block on Eclipse 69.93.47.98

Thanks, Justin!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-25-2004, 12:20 PM
GatorBen
HostGator Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Spam Block on Eclipse 69.93.47.98

I emailed Comcast to get it removed, the problem is they don't notify us when they do this, we usually go by SpamCop who is the largest list keeper so they let us know if there is a problem.

You can view checks of all the spam lists at http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/ip4r.ch?ip=69.93.47.98 and this is usually what we check when we get a complaint. As you can see it is not listed on any Spam services except one that is not active or used anymore (the five domain).

Thanks, Ben
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-25-2004, 12:39 PM
greenman greenman is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Taos, New Mexico
Posts: 37
Red face Re: Spam Block on Eclipse 69.93.47.98

Thank You Ben!
I'll try it again later today.

William
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spam block on chrysler 67.19.156.130 chopper Shared Hosting Support 4 10-24-2004 01:14 AM
Shared servers and spam lynne Pre-Sales Questions 2 09-15-2004 01:00 PM
[Closed] Possible spam problem jas01724 Shared Hosting Support 2 06-17-2004 12:25 PM
[Open] Spam Assassin - Spam Box jbnova Pre-Sales Questions 3 05-11-2004 08:19 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 AM.