Go Back   HostGator Peer Support Forums > HostGator Announcements > Network Status

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-18-2006, 10:56 PM
one19 one19 is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8
Default SONOMA on SpamCop

I guess it's inevitable that a server gets listed in an SBL every now and then. I use many different reseller accounts and must say that HostGator does a fairly good job of trying to stay out of SBL's. And if and when they do, they're much faster to respond and take action on getting delisted, at least compared to other resellers I've used in the past.

We just discovered it now and assuming, the server's now clean, "it will be delisted automatically in approximately 2 hours."

http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=ch...p=74.52.133.34

Quote:
74.52.133.34 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)

If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 2 hours.
Causes of listing
  • SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam less than 10 times in the past week
Additional potential problems
(these factors do not directly result in spamcop listing)
  • System administrator has already delisted this system once
Because of the above problems, express-delisting is not available
Listing History
In the past 3.3 days, it has been listed 2 times for a total of 2.2 days
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-19-2006, 01:00 AM
one19 one19 is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8
Default Re: SONOMA on SpamCop

Quote:
74.52.133.34 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)

If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 0 hours.


Well, I guess it will be ok in a few minutes and should be fine by the time North America gets up!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-19-2006, 01:52 AM
one19 one19 is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8
Default Re: SONOMA on SpamCop

Interesting how SpamCop measures time

Quote:
74.52.133.34 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)

If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in a short time.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-19-2006, 07:53 PM
one19 one19 is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8
Thumbs up Re: SONOMA on SpamCop

Everything's back to normal.

Quote:
74.52.133.34 not listed in bl.spamcop.net
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-25-2006, 08:29 PM
one19 one19 is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8
Default Re: SONOMA on SpamCop

SONOMA is on SpamCop again.
http://www.spamcop.net/w3m?action=ch...p=74.52.133.34
Quote:
74.52.133.34 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)

If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 1 hours.
...
In the past 10.2 days, it has been listed 6 times for a total of 4.8 days
I sure hope HostGator is on top of this as there have been a lot of listings the past 10 days
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-28-2006, 02:15 PM
insuranceguy insuranceguy is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Default Re: SONOMA on SpamCop

As of 3:13 PM, EDT on 10/28/2006:


74.52.133.34 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)

If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 12 hours. Causes of listing
  • System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week (spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)
  • SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam about 10 times in the past week
Additional potential problems
(these factors do not directly result in spamcop listing)
  • System administrator has already delisted this system once
Because of the above problems, express-delisting is not available

Listing History
In the past 13.0 days, it has been listed 7 times for a total of 6.5 days

What the heck is going on, HostGator??????
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-29-2006, 07:29 PM
tRiTiO tRiTiO is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Default Re: SONOMA on SpamCop

Yes, i have the same problem today (29/10)

First, the last week the load of the servers appears too high (about 18, 15).

Now, i can't receive e-mails because Sonoma still in SpamCop. I'm lose clients: "In the past 14.2 days, SONOMA has been listed 8 times for a total of 7.4 days"

Please, i need a definitive anwser, a change of server, i don't know.

Thanks and sorry for the english.

Last edited by tRiTiO; 10-29-2006 at 07:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-30-2006, 04:12 AM
one19 one19 is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Philippines
Posts: 8
Default Re: SONOMA on SpamCop

This is getting a bit worrisome indeed. SONOMA was listed Oct 18, Oct 24, and again listed at the moment.

I do understand that your servers will get listed every now and then. Maybe 4 times a year is a reality we may have to live with.

But isn't this a bit too much?

Although I had opened a ticket, I would appreciate an explanation from HOSTGATOR in this forum for the benefit of everyone as this issue can happen on any server.

I've been a happy customer since Jan 2005 and have just signed-up my 2nd reseller account (SONOMA).

Lately, I've been noticing some email related issues. INFINITI was temporarily blocked by Yahoo, but I think Yahoo has been a bit too eager to block IPs lately as I'd had a similar problem with another reseller as well.

I hope that there's a viable solution to this issue.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-30-2006, 05:26 AM
GatorBilly
HostGator Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: SONOMA on SpamCop

We have located and removed the user responsible for this.
A reseller had 1 user who was spamming, that user was terminated. The reseller was notified and said they understood and would not add them back. They turned around and added the user again. We have removed the reseller now.

We apologize for this inconvienience and believe it should be fully handled now.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-30-2006, 06:18 AM
insuranceguy insuranceguy is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Angry Re: SONOMA on SpamCop

As of 7:15 AM, EST, Monday, Sonoma is now BACK ON SPAMCOP?


74.52.133.34 listed in bl.spamcop.net (127.0.0.2)

If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 10 hours. Causes of listing
  • System has sent mail to SpamCop spam traps in the past week (spam traps are secret, no reports or evidence are provided by SpamCop)
  • SpamCop users have reported system as a source of spam less than 10 times in the past week
Additional potential problems
(these factors do not directly result in spamcop listing)
  • System administrator has already delisted this system once
Because of the above problems, express-delisting is not available

Listing History
In the past 14.7 days, it has been listed 8 times for a total of 7.8 days

This is absolutely NUTS - what is HostGator planning on doing to resolve this?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10-30-2006, 11:58 AM
slapshotw's Avatar
slapshotw slapshotw is offline
Veteran Croc
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5,164
Default Re: SONOMA on SpamCop

It takes it 12 hours to delist. Looks like only 4 hours left.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-30-2006, 01:06 PM
Serra's Avatar
Serra Serra is offline
Veteran Croc
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Orange Park, FL
Posts: 5,073
Default Re: SONOMA on SpamCop

Quote:
Originally Posted by insuranceguy View Post
This is absolutely NUTS - what is HostGator planning on doing to resolve this?
Seems to me that they got rid of the person who was causing the problem, what else would you like them to do?
__________________
Six stages of Dedi Ownership

Fashionable broken link
image included
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 AM.