|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
http://www.spamhaus.org/sbl/sbl.lasso?query=SBL59809
The PONTIAC server has been listed since 2007-10-21 and we caught the spammer yesterday. I emailed them early yesterday morning (11AM EDT for those wanting a timeframe) and have received a single email back since. Basically, we're waiting on them to wait on us to wait on the problematic account on the server. Right now, we have no ETA of being removed however I suspect that we should be removed 2007-10-24 but this is not a concrete date and may take slightly longer depending on Spamhaus's response times. (sorry for the delay in posting this here, I completely spaced out on doing so)
__________________
Richard F. Network Security Department ISP Blacklists Administrator Level 3 Systems Administrator HostGator Technical Support |
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hi,
Any further news on this? Will an emails sent from the Pontiac server be lost forever? Tom |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
Cmon. this is a joke. get this sorted please!!!
|
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Any bounced emails will retry per Exim's configuration.
__________________
Richard F. Network Security Department ISP Blacklists Administrator Level 3 Systems Administrator HostGator Technical Support Last edited by GatorRichard; 10-25-2007 at 11:46 AM. |
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
So, if I understand this correctly -- it has been since 10/21/2007 that this problem started and now, on 10/25/2007, we still do not have this resolved?
I would venture to guess that there has to be something Hostgator can do to help all of the customers being affected by this. We simply cannot accept this situation -- personally, my customers are furious that their ecommerce has been affected for days and there is nothing (from their viewpoint) being done about it. At this time I am at risk of shutting down due to this problem! Please help us! |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
Another thought: is Spamhaus the only blacklisted we are being affected by or others will be affecting email delivery? I saw some other services listed in the mailer-deamon returns I have received.
|
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
What about using a different (non-banned) IP address once the spammer is caught? |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
HG are currently working on a system to stop blacklists: http://forums.hostgator.com/showthre...ht=mail+server |
|
#10
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
Yes, Spamhaus is the only list the IP is on. However this does not mean other places are not blocking the IP since Spamhaus is used as a blacklist mirror by a huge number of companies. Once it's off SBL, it'll be removed from any mirror that uses SBL.
__________________
Richard F. Network Security Department ISP Blacklists Administrator Level 3 Systems Administrator HostGator Technical Support |
|
#11
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
![]() Look forward to hearing when there's been a resolution to this. |
|
#12
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
Has this been implemented yet?
|
|
#13
|
|||
|
|||
|
Seriously, I don't find the daily "what's the status" email offensive and don't see why others should as well. Do you have any indication that they have received your email?
BTW: While not perfect; this link does show the major lists that are blocking us. |
|
#14
|
||||
|
||||
|
NO! Situations such as this is why HG is working on this.
__________________
best regards, George |
|
#15
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
best regards, George |
|
#16
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
Follow me on Twitter! http://twitter.com/mrw |
|
#17
|
||||
|
||||
|
Pontiac has been put on our mail gateway for now. Your e-mails should send without a problem now.
|
|
#18
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
Thanks! |
|
#19
|
||||
|
||||
|
Next week I am going to try to dedicate my time to the mail gateway, so I'll probably have to drop the Pontiac server off of the gateway while I get my production servers up and running.
|
|
#20
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
__________________
best regards, George |
|
#21
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
How long do you think we will be again vulnerable to blacklistings for? I realize this has not been a frequent problem (yet) on this server, but it only takes one time to really hurt our businesses. I do appreciate the difficult position HG and your team is in -- but we (as resellers) get into a pretty tight spot when things do not work properly. Worst yet, we cannot really do anything about the problems short of reporting them to you. And many of our clients simply do not understand the details of how this all works. // Victor // |
|
#22
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
If the main IP is still black listed after the weekend, I'll make the mail route through a secondary IP on the server. Thats the simplest solution. |
|
#23
|
||||
|
||||
|
As of 3:47PM EDT, Spamhaus delisted the server. This may still take a few hours to clear the rest of the database mirrors (typically 4-6 hours in my experience, sometimes slightly longer).
__________________
Richard F. Network Security Department ISP Blacklists Administrator Level 3 Systems Administrator HostGator Technical Support |
|
#24
|
|||
|
|||
|
We seem to be having problems with Spamhaus again (though this is the first time I'm encountering difficulty as a result).
As I've posted on another thread... What I'm trying to do is to rig up a push mail set up where mail coming into my HG hosted domain accounts (me@mydomain.com) get forwarded to either (a) Bell Mobility text messaging (b) fastmail.fm or (c) mail2web.com. Any of these three would send a text notification to my PPC that would in turn (with the help of a tool) trigger an automatic send/receive effectively giving me push mail. This worked perfectly until a few weeks ago when the forwards started bouncing... and bouncing and bouncing. After much work with support the cause of the bounced forwarded messages was Hostgator's newly constant appearance on the RBL. When steps are taken to get delisted the setup works fine until HG is RElisted within 24 hours. I need the RBL issue resolved once and for all since NONE of these other mail services are accepting forwarded messages from HG. If HG is seen by Spamhaus to be on a permanent blacklist I need to find another solution. Anthony |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
| Thread Tools | |
|
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03 PM.










