Go Back   HostGator Peer Support Forums > HostGator Peer Support Forums > Shared Hosting Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-03-2003, 06:00 PM
lgilbert lgilbert is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
Default

I'm having a very weird problem. Whenever I try to access a search page, such as www.google.com, it pops up a cPanel screen displaying some graphics and the following text:

Quote:
There is no website configured at this address.


cPanel Web Host Manager
If I check the properties of the graphics on the page it will say their location is something like http://www.google.com/sys_cpanel/images/index_01.gif.

www.altavista.com behaves the same way. I can go to www.msn.com, but when I click on the search button (leading to search.msn.com I believe) it also does the same thing.

I am on Windows 2000, using Internet Explorer and Netscape. The problem occurs in both browsers. Could it be a virus? I don't recall downloading anything that could have been a virus.

Thanks to anyone that wishes to help Please tell me if I could be more specific on anything.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2003, 10:09 PM
GatorBrent's Avatar
GatorBrent GatorBrent is offline
HostGator Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: houston, texas
Posts: 3,006
Default

When you exit cpanel and your having problems that has nothing to do with cpanel as it's exited.

My guess is a virus or an internet accelerator, as those things never work.
__________________
Gators love marshmallows.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-03-2003, 10:13 PM
lgilbert lgilbert is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks, I'll try a virus scan.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-03-2003, 10:38 PM
angeleyz angeleyz is offline
Junior Croc
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Everywhere at once
Posts: 192
Default

You might also want to check that your browser is set to update webpages automatically. Also, try clearing your cookies, temp files, and offline content. Reboot. I've had users on my site see porn pics and advertisements in place of smilies because of things like this, so it's entirely possible. Good luck!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-2003, 08:52 PM
lgilbert lgilbert is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Well somehow my "hosts" file located in my WINNT folder was modified. I have no idea why it happened. I just deleted all the information in that file and my everything is working fine again.

It looked like:
127.127.127.127 elite
207.44.194.56 www.google.com
207.44.194.56 google.com
207.44.194.56 www.altavista.com
207.44.194.56 altavista.com
207.44.194.56 search.yahoo.com
207.44.194.56 uk.search.yahoo.com
207.44.194.56 ca.search.yahoo.com
207.44.194.56 jp.search.yahoo.com
207.44.194.56 au.search.yahoo.com
207.44.194.56 de.search.yahoo.com
207.44.194.56 search.yahoo.co.jp
207.44.194.56 www.lycos.de
207.44.194.56 www.lycos.ca
207.44.194.56 www.lycos.jp
207.44.194.56 www.lycos.co.jp
207.44.194.56 alltheweb.com
207.44.194.56 web.ask.com
207.44.194.56 ask.com
207.44.194.56 www.ask.com
207.44.194.56 www.teoma.com
207.44.194.56 search.aol.com
207.44.194.56 www.looksmart.com
207.44.194.56 search.msn.com
207.44.194.56 auto.search.msn.com
207.44.194.56 ca.search.msn.com
207.44.194.56 fr.ca.search.msn.com
207.44.194.56 search.fr.msn.be
207.44.194.56 search.fr.msn.ch
207.44.194.56 search.latam.yupimsn.com
207.44.194.56 search.msn.at
207.44.194.56 search.msn.be
207.44.194.56 search.msn.ch
207.44.194.56 search.msn.co.in
207.44.194.56 search.msn.co.jp
207.44.194.56 search.msn.co.kr
207.44.194.56 search.msn.com.br
207.44.194.56 search.msn.com.hk
207.44.194.56 search.msn.com.my
207.44.194.56 search.msn.com.sg
207.44.194.56 search.msn.com.tw
207.44.194.56 search.msn.co.za
207.44.194.56 search.msn.de
207.44.194.56 search.msn.dk
207.44.194.56 search.msn.es
207.44.194.56 search.msn.fi
207.44.194.56 search.msn.fr
207.44.194.56 search.msn.it
207.44.194.56 search.msn.nl
207.44.194.56 search.msn.no
207.44.194.56 search.msn.se
207.44.194.56 search.ninemsn.com.au
207.44.194.56 search.t1msn.com.mx
207.44.194.56 search.xtramsn.co.nz
207.44.194.56 search.yupimsn.com
207.44.194.56 uk.search.msn.com
207.44.194.56 search.lycos.com
207.44.194.56 www.lycos.com
207.44.194.56 www.google.ca
207.44.194.56 google.ca
207.44.194.56 www.google.uk
207.44.194.56 www.google.co.uk
207.44.194.56 www.google.com.au
207.44.194.56 www.google.co.jp
207.44.194.56 www.google.jp
207.44.194.56 www.google.at
207.44.194.56 www.google.be
207.44.194.56 www.google.ch
207.44.194.56 www.google.de
207.44.194.56 www.google.dk
207.44.194.56 www.google.fi
207.44.194.56 www.google.fr
207.44.194.56 www.google.com.gr
207.44.194.56 www.google.com.hk
207.44.194.56 www.google.ie
207.44.194.56 www.google.co.il
207.44.194.56 www.google.it
207.44.194.56 www.google.co.kr
207.44.194.56 www.google.com.mx
207.44.194.56 www.google.nl
207.44.194.56 www.google.co.nz
207.44.194.56 www.google.pl
207.44.194.56 www.google.pt
207.44.194.56 www.google.com.ru
207.44.194.56 www.google.com.sg
207.44.194.56 www.google.co.th
207.44.194.56 www.google.com.tr
207.44.194.56 www.google.com.tw
207.44.194.56 google.at
207.44.194.56 google.be
207.44.194.56 google.de
207.44.194.56 google.dk
207.44.194.56 google.fi
207.44.194.56 google.fr
207.44.194.56 google.com.hk
207.44.194.56 google.ie
207.44.194.56 google.co.il
207.44.194.56 google.it
207.44.194.56 google.co.kr
207.44.194.56 google.com.mx
207.44.194.56 google.nl
207.44.194.56 google.co.nz
207.44.194.56 google.pl
207.44.194.56 google.com.ru
207.44.194.56 google.com.sg
207.44.194.56 www.hotbot.com
207.44.194.56 hotbot.com
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-12-2003, 11:36 PM
angeleyz angeleyz is offline
Junior Croc
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Everywhere at once
Posts: 192
Default

Quote:
127.127.127.127 elite
That right there looks awfully suspicious to me. Probably a virus or spybot or something. Because that definitely is NOT right. Glad you got it figured out!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-13-2003, 06:06 AM
abstraktMedia's Avatar
abstraktMedia abstraktMedia is offline
Junior Croc
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ljutomer, Slovenia
Posts: 131
Default

The only thing in the HOST file should be 127.0.0.1 localhost .....

Hope that helps...
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 PM.