Go Back   HostGator Peer Support Forums > HostGator Peer Support Forums > Linux VPS Support

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02-09-2011, 04:29 AM
seqiro seqiro is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Default IP Blacklisted by Microsoft

Hello,

So I'm new around here. I just switched from a VPS at SurpassHosting where I was having all kind of problems with downtime, connectivity, terrible slowness etc. so I'm glad to be with a host that where my sites fly.

However, after moving my account here I can no longer send mail to Microsoft servers (@hotmail.com, @live.com, etc.) All of the messages bounce back with the following error:

Quote:
host mx2.hotmail.com [yy.yy.yyy.yy]: 550 SC-001 Unfortunately, messages from xxx.xxx.xx.xxx weren't sent. Please contact your Internet service provider since part of their network is on our block list. You can also refer your provider to http://mail.live.com/mail/troubleshooting.aspx#errors.
No one on my server does any bulk mailing and we aren't breaking any Microsoft rules. I never had a problem from my old IP address and I'd only had this one for a day when the problem started happening.

Here's my big problem: I submitted a ticket, got a form letter response that linked to an outdated Microsoft page and asked if I had SPF records, and that was it. I had to look up what SPF records even were as I never had them before. I went through the process, learned how to create them, put one on each of my domains and... nothing. So I responded back in the ticket with this information.

It has now been 3 days since I've heard from HostGator support. No updates, no responses, nothing.

Is that the norm around here? Because if so, I didn't look hard enough for a new host.

I left my previous host in part because when I said I had a problem, they told me I didn't. Clearly I did because my sites fly here without a hitch. But not being able to reach anyone on a Microsoft server is a big problem and I need someone to address this.

On the plus side, now I know what an SPF record is and how to create one and add it to my DNS zones and zone templates.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-2011, 02:08 PM
SonicFog SonicFog is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
Default Re: IP Blacklisted by Microsoft

Obfuscating critical information to assess the problem doesn't help. The one question I have is whether the IP number you obfuscated was that of your ISP connection or was it the server IP.

WendyH
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-2011, 02:16 PM
seqiro seqiro is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: IP Blacklisted by Microsoft

It's the server IP, not my ISP.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-2011, 02:22 PM
SonicFog SonicFog is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 43
Default Re: IP Blacklisted by Microsoft

Then I suggest that you contact abuse [AT] hostgator [DOT] com and let them know that your IP is on a block list. The will help you get it delisted.

WendyH
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-09-2011, 02:26 PM
seqiro seqiro is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: IP Blacklisted by Microsoft

I was already working with abuse. They are the ones who sent me the form letter and didn't respond for over 3 days even when I asked for updates.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-09-2011, 03:40 PM
GatorChrisD's Avatar
GatorChrisD GatorChrisD is offline
HostGator Staff
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 6,468
Default Re: IP Blacklisted by Microsoft

What is the ticket number related to this?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-10-2011, 02:32 AM
seqiro seqiro is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: IP Blacklisted by Microsoft

CKK-14675660

I did get a response earlier today, but it's basically telling me to answer the questions that Microsoft asks which I can't really do. They all apply to bulk mailers/businesses/ISPs. I don't collect personal data, nor do any of my clients; all of the sites I host are personal blogs.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-15-2011, 02:52 AM
seqiro seqiro is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 5
Default Re: IP Blacklisted by Microsoft

This has been an unbelievably frustrating experience for me. 4 days go by with no update on the ticket whatsoever, and then I am asked for information that I've already given.

I'm starting to think that despite the huge speed boost and reliability, I made a mistake coming to HostGator.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-15-2011, 04:30 AM
aeons aeons is offline
Junior Croc
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 104
Default Re: IP Blacklisted by Microsoft

I have this problem EVERY time I move to a new server, irregardless who the host is.

Try this:
http://mail.live.com/mail/services.aspx

Do EVERYTHING they offer/request on that page.

You will likely find a similar situation with Yahoo, if you haven't already, so in advance; here you go:
http://feedbackloop.yahoo.net
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-15-2011, 08:33 AM
GatorDavid's Avatar
GatorDavid GatorDavid is offline
HostGator Staff
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,826
Default Re: IP Blacklisted by Microsoft

Quote:
Originally Posted by aeons View Post
I have this problem EVERY time I move to a new server, irregardless who the host is.

Try this:
http://mail.live.com/mail/services.aspx

Do EVERYTHING they offer/request on that page.

You will likely find a similar situation with Yahoo, if you haven't already, so in advance; here you go:
http://feedbackloop.yahoo.net
Yeah, we see this alot with brand new IP allocations also. Microsoft and Yahoo are distrustful of new IP allocations since they have no sender reputation, so they block by default usually.

The information provided by aeons is solid, though you might need to submit some of it to us so we can forward it to the datacenter, as sometimes they're picky about the IP address owner sending in the information.
__________________
David I.
Level III Linux Systems Administrator
Hostgator.com LLC
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 02-15-2011, 10:21 AM
justMe justMe is offline
Swamp Croc
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Tonasket, Wa.
Posts: 232
Default Re: IP Blacklisted by Microsoft

Not wanting to go through delisting a new ip from various blacklists is why I've been dragging my feet upgrading to a new dedi for over a year. It's unfortunate that HG doesn't take a more proactive attitude with this rather than reactive.
__________________
~ Leighton
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-15-2011, 05:58 PM
aeons aeons is offline
Junior Croc
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 104
Default Re: IP Blacklisted by Microsoft

I got a dedicated server with Hostgator in December, I completely forgot to file updated info with hotmail & yahoo regarding the IP update.. earlier this month I started noticing a large portion of my server's mail hitting hotmail's junk bin.

Initially paranoia set in & I thought Hostgator gave me a dud for an IP - but after filing the info with Hotmail, my mail delivery went back to normal & as far as I can tell, all of my customers are getting my mail again. Must have taken a while for Hotmail to start blacklisting my mail for not updating the records.

To be fair, it isn't Hostgator's fault, although they are an easy target.

I assume all of the IPs we are given were used by someone else at some point, so some of them may be legitimately on blacklists due to other people's misuse... personally, I believe the onus is upon us as server owners to make sure our mail gets delivered. I don't expect Hostgator to do this. And why should they? They don't double-check our sites to ensure we're writing good & secure php code, so why should they vouch for our non-spamming techniques, which is really what these programs are all about?

However, regarding Hotmail's junk mail reporting program; Softlayer are fairly ignorant about this. When I had a box directly with them as The Planet, they wouldn't message Microsoft to confirm I'm the sole sender on that IP. I was not able to join the Junk-mail reporting program.

And regarding my new server with HG; I made the request for Hostgator to ask them to do this for my new IP and they so far, have not done it (Softlayer)!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-16-2011, 05:31 PM
wesslayneb's Avatar
wesslayneb wesslayneb is offline
Junior Croc
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kentucky USA
Posts: 176
Default Re: IP Blacklisted by Microsoft

I have never had this issue before but have had friends who have had this same issue. (From what I have heard) MSN Hotmail is very "touchy" and is known to randomly blacklist IP's for the smallest of violations or "iffy" issues. Again that is not fact as far as I know just something I have heard.

Im not fully sure that this may be the absolute resolution to your issue, but this is the best thing that I can find.
https://support.msn.com/eform.aspx?p...&wfxredirect=1
__________________
HostGator makes being a Web Host extremely easy and simple.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft Windows Vista esl Off-Topic 1 07-27-2005 08:21 PM
Q: How many Microsoft...... Kenshi Off-Topic 3 11-19-2004 03:42 PM
Can not access email with Microsoft Outlook Freakindj Shared Hosting Support 9 11-07-2004 11:44 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.