Go Back   HostGator Peer Support Forums > HostGator Announcements > Network Status

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-20-2007, 04:22 PM
Dimwhit Dimwhit is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 41
Default Has Gmail been blacklisted??

I'm trying to send email from my gmail account to any email address hosting with my HG account. I get the following:

Technical details of permanent failure:
PERM_FAILURE: SMTP Error (state 13): 550-Message rejected because wa-out-1112.google.com [209.85.146.176]:22608 is
550 blacklisted at see

Has Gmail been blacklisted, then? Anyone know if this can be fixed?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-20-2007, 04:29 PM
Sam Sam is offline
Emperor Croc
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: /bin/false
Posts: 3,057
Default Re: Has Gmail been blacklisted??

Your google mailserver has been blacklisted.. contact google
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-20-2007, 06:05 PM
kmaw's Avatar
kmaw kmaw is offline
Emperor Croc
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,924
Default Re: Has Gmail been blacklisted??

Weird... doesn't show as such... but definitely a google problem... Sam's got the right idea...

http://www.dnsstuff.com/tools/ip4r.ch?ip=209.85.146.176
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-21-2007, 12:51 PM
rota919 rota919 is offline
Swamp Croc
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Armagh, Northern Ireland
Posts: 323
Default Re: Has Gmail been blacklisted??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dimwhit View Post
I'm trying to send email from my gmail account to any email address hosting with my HG account.
Am I missing something or what. He is sending from gmail to his own HG hosted e-mail address.

As far as I know HG does not blacklist any mailservers on your account for you. It is your responsibility to filter spam and blacklist them by whatever means.
So if you get a blocked notice from your own account you need to look at your own setup.
__________________
Fred
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-21-2007, 12:53 PM
gtgeorge's Avatar
gtgeorge gtgeorge is offline
Emperor Croc
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,223
Default Re: Has Gmail been blacklisted??

Quote:
Originally Posted by rota919 View Post
Am I missing something or what. He is sending from gmail to his own HG hosted e-mail address.

As far as I know HG does not blacklist any mailservers on your account for you. It is your responsibility to filter spam and blacklist them by whatever means.
So if you get a blocked notice from your own account you need to look at your own setup.
Sorry rota919
They use blacklists too, in fact there is a thread currently in announcements that reflect this as there is an issue resolving to the rbl address currently.
__________________
best regards,
George
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-21-2007, 01:40 PM
rota919 rota919 is offline
Swamp Croc
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Armagh, Northern Ireland
Posts: 323
Default Re: Has Gmail been blacklisted??

I am still missing something or is it one of my slower days?

Do they actually check outgoing e-mail to see if you are sending it to a blacklisted address?
If so why would you want to do that. Surely no-one is going to send an e-mail to a spammer.
__________________
Fred
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-21-2007, 01:52 PM
Sam Sam is offline
Emperor Croc
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: /bin/false
Posts: 3,057
Default Re: Has Gmail been blacklisted??

Quote:
Originally Posted by rota919 View Post
I am still missing something or is it one of my slower days?

Do they actually check outgoing e-mail to see if you are sending it to a blacklisted address?
If so why would you want to do that. Surely no-one is going to send an e-mail to a spammer.
rota919,

he is sending emails from his GM account to an address on his HG account so HG bounced the message back as the sending server is blacklisted
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-22-2007, 11:07 AM
rota919 rota919 is offline
Swamp Croc
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Armagh, Northern Ireland
Posts: 323
Default Re: Has Gmail been blacklisted??

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Sam_ View Post
he is sending emails from his GM account to an address on his HG account so HG bounced the message back as the sending server is blacklisted
Exactly my point. Who configure the HG hosted mail servers to block a blacklisted server?
The users, not HG. We are in control of out hosting and we can decide who to block or not. That's why we have spamassassin and boxtrapper in our cpanels.
__________________
Fred
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-24-2007, 08:04 PM
GatorDmitry
HostGator Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Has Gmail been blacklisted??

Quote:
Originally Posted by rota919 View Post
Exactly my point. Who configure the HG hosted mail servers to block a blacklisted server?
The users, not HG. We are in control of out hosting and we can decide who to block or not. That's why we have spamassassin and boxtrapper in our cpanels.

Just to be clear, the mail is being sent from Google.com's GMail service to our server, not the other way around, we would never block you from sending mail to someone who is blacklisted.

For incoming mail our servers utilize RBL's to prevent spam messages from reaching our user's accounts. The reason for this is that the overwhelming majority of users do want some built-in spam filtering (most actually want MORE of it) and because we wish to keep resource usage reasonable on shared/reseller servers. In the cases of valid incoming emails getting blocked by our servers, we can white list particular mail servers or addresses for you via a ticket to support@hostgator.com explaining the situation. Dedicated server customers are free to customize their RBL settings however they choose, we can also help you out via a ticket sent to the aforementioned address.

Last edited by GatorDmitry; 08-24-2007 at 08:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 AM.