Go Back   HostGator Peer Support Forums > HostGator Announcements > Network Status

Notices

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-10-2005, 01:32 PM
intrepid intrepid is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 18
Exclamation Exim blocking emails

Hello,

I have a hosting client who has been telling me that they weren't getting emails from a few of their specifc clients. It was really weird - most of their clients could send them email - it got to the point where she needed to have that one client send her email to her home email address. I couldn't figure it out.

But now I have stumbled upon the issue myself. I use PHPMailer (1.73) to send out emails and they successfully arrive at my Yahoo.com and other accounts - but not my fireballgroup.com address, hosted here at HG.

I figured it out that the problem has something to do with the header.

How is HG configuring their Exim process so that it would silently discard emails based on the header?
__________________
TheLocalGuru.com
  #2  
Old 08-10-2005, 01:44 PM
GatorChad's Avatar
GatorChad GatorChad is offline
HostGator Staff
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 129
Default Re: Exim blocking emails

How many emails are you sending out with PHPMailer per hour would you say?
  #3  
Old 08-10-2005, 05:54 PM
intrepid intrepid is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 18
Default Re: Exim blocking emails

Hi GatorChad,

I'd have to say I send about 1 every 4 hours maximum. It could be SPAM related - how does exim label mail as spam? My spam assassin is turned on - but its not being consumed there.

Specifically I've figured out that if I send the mail out without a 'from address' defined - geoff@fireballgroup.com gets the mail (which means the email comes from 'nobody'). However, if I assign the 'From Address' geoff@fireballgroup.com doesn't get it. Its not mailbox specific - its fireballgroup.com-wide.

The one thing I thought it might be is that exim is trying the validate the 'from address' on the email or something - but that check should pass...
__________________
TheLocalGuru.com
  #4  
Old 08-10-2005, 06:59 PM
intrepid intrepid is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 18
Default Re: Exim blocking emails

As a follow-up - the code I am using works fine if I connect to the mail.fireballgroup.com mail server on port 26 with authentication.

But when I use the same code to send thru a different mail server (thelocalguru.com) it won't get to geoff@fireballgroup.com - no matter that it will go to my other email accounts on other servers.
__________________
TheLocalGuru.com

Last edited by intrepid; 08-10-2005 at 07:02 PM.
  #5  
Old 08-14-2005, 10:54 PM
intrepid intrepid is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 18
Default Re: Exim blocking emails

I tried emailing geoff@fireballgroup.com from my feedback@thelocalguru.com address and this is what I get as a bounce:

Code:
This message was created automatically by mail delivery software.

A message that you sent could not be delivered to one or more of its
recipients. This is a permanent error. The following address(es) failed:

  geoff@fireballgroup.com
    SMTP error from remote mailer after RCPT TO:<geoff@fireballgroup.com>:
    host fireballgroup.com [70.84.139.138]: 550-Verification failed for <feedback@thelocalguru.com>
    550-No Such User Here
    550 Sender verify failed
What are you guys filtering on? I even tried to send from geoff@fireballgroup.com to feedback@thelocalguru.com and it fails with the same error - no such user, feedback@thelocalguru.com. I swear the user exists! Is it fireballgroup.com / thelocalguru.com's fault this email is not working?
__________________
TheLocalGuru.com
  #6  
Old 08-15-2005, 12:39 AM
intrepid intrepid is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 18
Default Re: Exim blocking emails

I had thelocalguru.com setup on the same server as fireballgroup.com - hence the problem. I removed the account and all is fine. I didn't think that the local dns was setup and checked by the mailserver - alas the things you learn
__________________
TheLocalGuru.com
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 AM.