|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hello,
I recently switched my website from shared hosting to VPS. On shared side, I've had absolutely no issues. However, on the VPS side I'm having a problem where all of my emails are going into the SPAM folder of Yahoo Mail. This issue is not happening on hotmail or gmail - just yahoo. I've tried a few things: 1) Setup an SPF record for the domian that will be sending out the emails. 2) Installed a domainkey via the shell (/usr/local/cpanel/bin/domain_keys_installer username). This did not seem to resolve the issue. My only other thought is that my IP address is banned on Yahoo. Has anyone come across this issue? Anyone able to successfully resolve it? Any assistance on this would be greatly appreciated. Below is the message header of an email that is going into SPAM: MESSAGE HEADER: X-Apparently-To: someone@yahoo.com via xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx; Mon, 21 Jun 2010 14:14:31 -0700 Return-Path: <me@MyVPSDomain.com> X-YahooFilteredBulk: 174.121.xxx.yyy Received-SPF: pass (mta1024.mail.ac4.yahoo.com: domain of me@MyVPSDomain.com designates 174.121.xxx.yyy as permitted sender) X-YMailISG: Yh7Cg_QcZAp_cTEWAq5ZYqaeazW_xGVzSHsnkecJ6_SJnn7U q92hyk6dEZivjkV7TWMwqxJrDTOs3GPGqSajaYxl98gS62k8eT I6BY9Kokc. sukEQdj3E2s.vIUCQm8yxRlWwfs1aGkJmAoMNqfPMgfJ0NwM_7 vSdNwMqe_L TxzeiPibEKZcm3joBrydkgRYOlcVyT6YwL_30muccoYw5ga4mv gW.48UpqYH q60mi._y3tOtOT69m9PbI0aMPAJ5kSZCFp751yNnVMb1OFSULK az1.hlqFhb Haf_w3AeSzKJK36tYWUmCS90eB689CE7q_minVkhwbpy103mB8 8p0EKA_x0H bYWXSSWHkdvbDMLQHjCD4iZ8GR8j1mvdLOKfwWjzJSAlqHAljo fuSh7XYoN6 USkJoA8csmiVfB0RSynTtAIDhFN1bSYX8tloJ5T1Rfn3co4B6S 0vmrrvb2J3 FJOtvTKOpc91TbjMxCdIcqKkSR91.EvKk1pSESta4A-- X-Originating-IP: [174.121.xxx.yyy] Authentication-Results: mta1024.mail.ac4.yahoo.com from=MyVPSDomain.com; domainkeys=pass (ok); from=MyVPSDomain.com; dkim=neutral (no sig) Received: from 127.0.0.1 (EHLO subdomain.MyVPSDomain.com) (174.121.xxx.yyy) by mta1024.mail.ac4.yahoo.com with SMTP; Mon, 21 Jun 2010 14:14:31 -0700 DomainKey-Signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws; s=default; d=MyVPSDomain.com; h=Message-ID ate:From:To:Subject:MIME-Version:Content-Type:Content-Disposition:Content-Transfer-Encoding:User-Agent; b=nJHRAx1JOxSiOr6oioQbC6Qlus1DYVLm2Qor6zv5tisLouiX F/F7KUtC9MSO0D6n+NIv+8SZWjdWD43rJP7e4b+1ZwVMqFlLZJV4 DnXjapB3cAEqI/d49Aj4kuxA+KA4;Received: from localhost.localdomain ([127.0.0.1] helo=localhost) by subdomain.MyVPSDomain.com with esmtpa (Exim 4.69) (envelope-from <me@MyVPSDomain.com>) id 1OQoK5-0001UX-MC for someone@yahoo.com; Mon, 21 Jun 2010 17:14:29 -0400 Received: from 173.142.182.222 ([173.142.182.222]) by MyVPSDomain.com (Horde MIME library) with HTTP; Mon, 21 Jun 2010 17:14:29 -0400 Message-ID: <20100621171429.yfkj9dfu8skogc04@MyVPSDomain.com > Date: Mon, 21 Jun 2010 17:14:29 -0400 From: This sender is DomainKeys verified me@MyVPSDomain.com Add sender to Contacts To: someone@yahoo.com Subject: test3 MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: text/plain; charset=ISO-8859-1; DelSp="Yes"; format="flowed" Content-Disposition: inline Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit User-Agent: Internet Messaging Program (IMP) H3 (4.1.6) X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname - subdomain.MyVPSDomain.com X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain - yahoo.com X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID - [47 12] / [47 12] X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain - MyVPSDomain.com Content-Length: 7 |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
Does your server's IP resolve to your server's hostname?
__________________
quietFinn - netFinn Finland "Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind." - Dr. Seuss |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
Yes it does |
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
We might be able to help more if you can provide the domain name. It would be worth checking to be sure RDNS is set up on the server.
|
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
Thanks for your help! |
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
The RDNS looked fine but one check I ran on the SPF record said that there was a problem since the sorathia.thebookingtool.net hostname was used as an include but there is no SPF record for that hostname.
|
|
#7
|
|||
|
|||
|
Thanks GvilleRick!
I went ahead and added a SPF record for my hostname and ran a test... It's still going into Bulk... |
|
#8
|
||||
|
||||
|
root@finn0 [~]# telnet sorathia.thebookingtool.net 25
Trying 174.121.249.181... Connected to sorathia.thebookingtool.net. Escape character is '^]'. 220-the.thebookingtool.net ESMTP Exim 4.69 #1 Tue, 22 Jun 2010 08:03:09 -0400 220-We do not authorize the use of this system to transport unsolicited, 220 and/or bulk e-mail. and DNSreport for thebookingtool.net tells: Quote:
__________________
quietFinn - netFinn Finland "Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind." - Dr. Seuss |
|
#9
|
|||
|
|||
|
That's weird, I'm not sure why it says "the.thebookingtool.net". Would it be getting this from /etc/hosts file?
After I updated the hosts from WHM, I noticed it did not remove the old "the" subdomain, but rather added the new subdomain in front of it... |
|
#10
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
But in a VPS that's not enough, but you must ask HG support to change the hostname also in the container configuration, or it will revert back after the next boot of the server. EDIT: Remember also that you must have an A record for the hostname.
__________________
quietFinn - netFinn Finland "Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind." - Dr. Seuss Last edited by quietFinn; 06-22-2010 at 09:33 AM. |
|
#11
|
|||
|
|||
|
quietFinn, this makes perfect sense because after I update the hostname, I did issue a reboot... I never had HG support update the container. I will do that now. Thanks!
|
|
#12
|
|||
|
|||
|
Still no luck!
Here is where I stand: DomainKey Verfied - YES SPF Record - YES Hostname - changed to sorathia.thebookingtool.net My other thought is that my server's IP address is banned at yahoo. I opened a ticket with HG support and they said: "Your IP address is not banned on Yahoo, or your emails would not be going through to their servers at all." I'm not sure what else to try... Any suggestions? Thanks |
|
#13
|
||||
|
||||
|
Sorathia,
Your IP probably isn't banned at Yahoo, since as the support person said, they'd outright reject your emails. But, you could be greylisted in some fashion. Try to fill out http://help.yahoo.com/l/us/yahoo/mai...M594NEX2o24w-- and see what they have to say. I couldn't find any other form than just the bulk sender form, but it should be fine. Usually they make you enroll in their spam fighting service before they remove the greylist- takes about 10 minutes. I know for Microsoft (hotmail), newly allocated IPs from ARIN have to do the same thing, since their rep basically told me "This is a newly allocated IP, so we deem it untrustworthy by default". The same thing might be what's happening here. Last edited by GatorDavid; 06-22-2010 at 09:06 PM. |
|
#14
|
|||
|
|||
|
GatorDavid, I filled out this form before I posted to the forum.
Yahoo came back with the following statement: "Based on the information that you have provided us, we cannot systematically deliver your email to the Inbox at this time..." "If you significantly change your policies, please feel free to contact us again to submit a questionnaire in 6 months, and we will re-evaluate your answers and mailing practices at that time." I've updated my Privacy Policy, but it seems like they want us to wait 6 months before re-submitting a questionnaire. How hard would it be to get a new set of IP's? |
|
#15
|
|||
|
|||
|
This is the form you need to fill out:
http://help.yahoo.com/l/us/yahoo/mai...ter/index.html They may give you some resistance, but keep replying back until you get this from them: Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
| Thread Tools | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Emails to yahoo not going through - FRUSTRATED! (chat log attached) | Menathor | Shared Hosting Support | 12 | 04-06-2010 11:03 AM |
| All emails through hostgator sent to SPAM boxes - help!! | Menathor | Shared Hosting Support | 11 | 04-29-2007 02:29 AM |
| GMail, Yahoo and AOL putting my mail in SPAM box | hrd2imagin | Shared Hosting Support | 6 | 01-25-2007 09:15 PM |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.



ate:From:To:Subject:MIME-Version:Content-Type:Content-Disposition:Content-Transfer-Encoding:User-Agent; b=nJHRAx1JOxSiOr6oioQbC6Qlus1DYVLm2Qor6zv5tisLouiX F/F7KUtC9MSO0D6n+NIv+8SZWjdWD43rJP7e4b+1ZwVMqFlLZJV4 DnXjapB3cAEqI/d49Aj4kuxA+KA4;






