Go Back   HostGator Peer Support Forums > HostGator Announcements > General Announcements

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-30-2008, 05:09 PM
GatorWesley's Avatar
GatorWesley GatorWesley is offline
HostGator Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,088
Exclamation Domain Name Phishing Scam ALERT!

Be on the lookout for any suspicious emails saying that they are coming from Enom in regards to your domain. Quite a few customers have came to us to let us know about these messages that ask for you to update your contact information by logging into their site.

If we sent out any mass emails to our customers requesting any kind of modification like that, we will address you by the full name listed in billing, these just say "Dear User".

Another giveaway that it is a scam would be the address that they are asking you to login to. Anything that would say something like www.enom.com/irjk52.biz is a phishing site that may cause your domain name to be stolen.

So be on the lookout and delete any emails that you see of this nature immediately. We are not asking anyone to update their domain contact information at this time.
__________________
Wesley
Hostgator / SEOhosting
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2008, 07:58 PM
ishablue ishablue is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 11
Thumbs up Re: Domain Name Phishing Scam ALERT!

Unfortunately the *name* of the link in the phishing emails is given as eNom.com, and many people are clicking on it without checking the actual url in the link.

3 of the emails that I received pretended to give information about eNom's activity on 1st November.

If you receive any of them, eNom would be grateful if you could take the time to log onto their (eNom's) website and submit a support ticket giving them the urls of the webpages that the emails are asking you to click on. That way they can make sure that they have removed all the fraudulent sites.

Isha
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-25-2008, 11:00 PM
midas midas is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 38
Default Re: Domain Name Phishing Scam ALERT!

There's another one that I've just received but this time it claims to be from "WDRP Compliance" and asks me to go to wdrp.name-services.com/who-is... to verify the details registered with some of my domains.

Could be legit but I doubt it - the return address is my own and the domains it questions have only just been renewed.

I've kept the email in case the HG team want to go over it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-28-2008, 12:07 PM
esl's Avatar
esl esl is offline
Emperor Croc
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Proud to be an American - USA
Posts: 2,232
Default Re: Domain Name Phishing Scam ALERT!

Quote:
Originally Posted by midas View Post
There's another one that I've just received but this time it claims to be from "WDRP Compliance" and asks me to go to wdrp.name-services.com/who-is... to verify the details registered with some of my domains.

Could be legit but I doubt it - the return address is my own and the domains it questions have only just been renewed.

I've kept the email in case the HG team want to go over it.
Na, I think that's legit. I've gotten a few. They don't ask me to login or anything.
__________________
Have a great day,
Evan
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-01-2008, 07:41 AM
Andeavour's Avatar
Andeavour Andeavour is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 39
Default Re: Domain Name Phishing Scam ALERT!

Also, be warned, the Domain Registry of America are on the prowl again. 4 of my customers have received actual physical letters from them in the last month offering to renew domain names (that weren't due for renewal) and at least one has actually lost a domain name (and cash) to them despite repeated warnings that they were not genuine.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-01-2008, 08:18 AM
religionrevolution religionrevolution is offline
Hatchling Croc
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 26
Default Re: Domain Name Phishing Scam ALERT!

I get letters from them all the time. and EVERY time my wife wigs out thinking its an invoice. These guys are crooks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.