|
#1
|
|||
|
|||
|
Still having AOL woes with returned mail. The odd thing was that I was asking clients to use domain mail rather than private AOL or Yahoo addresses etc.
I did some reading and it would appear that there might be a reverse DNS issue on my reseller plan or perhaps an issue with Spam at theplanet.com again? Good to see presales questions being answered before paying customers are. Cordially Chipfryer |
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
ZZZZZZZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
|
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
there is a reverse DNS entry for each server, check yours at dnsstuff.com in the reverse DNS tool (second in centre column). you can enter your server's hostname or default IP, and it will show that the rDNS entry for its IP is, surprise surprise, the hostname, barring any problems. Regardless of any private IPs you or your clients may have, mail from any domain on the server will be send out from the default IP address (check the full header of an email to verify), so any rDNS problem as affects mail would have to be server-wide. Therefore, I'd say that it's not likely to be the problem. as regards spamlists, you can check that you're not on any rbls using http://rbls.org/ and for AOL, afaics, all information that you need to know about their (proprietary, annoying) mailblocking can be found at http://postmaster.info.aol.com/
hope it helps. Olly Last edited by bagel50; 07-19-2005 at 02:19 PM. |
|
#4
|
|||
|
|||
|
Hi Olly. Listen thank you very much indeed! It more than likely does not matter now because mail is getting sent through again.
I will make notes on what you have suggested for further reference. God Bless & thank again. Mark. |
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
Quote:
If you don't mind me picking your brain a little, does the above statement mean that if a reseller or client purchased a dedicated IP address, it wouldn't matter in terms of a site blocking a range of IP addresses in a certain block? We had a problem recently where one of our clients could not receive mail from us, but the IP for our server did not show up on any of the lists at rbls.org, they were all green. This one wasn't even in the list at rbls.org though. If what I'm thinking is correct, purchasing a dedicated IP for our main website wouldn't have helped in that case. David |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
yes, your assertion is correct, assuming that the blocking that affected him was I.P. based (which is very likely) and that you were using your domain's smtp servers to send the mail. I have a dedicated IP for my main site, but emails from that domain are still sent with the shared IP, as per headers shown below...
Received: from binda.bath.xx ([138.38.32.22] ident=mj584uzhy9fopp6npxi9) by serena.bath.xx with esmtp (Exim 4.30) id 1Dv7jM-0002du-Ci for wxx@imaps.bath.xx; Wed, 20 Jul 2005 07:06:56 +0100 Received: from jetta.websitewelcome.com ([67.19.167.194]) by binda.bath.xx with esmtps (TLSv1 HE-RSA-AES256-SHA:256)id 1Dv7jL-00077n-Bz for wxx@bath.xx; Wed, 20 Jul 2005 07:06:56 +0100 Received: from cpc1-x-cust8x.lon6.cable.ntl.com ([x.x.x.x]:3026 helo=pc) by jetta.websitewelcome.com with esmtpa (Exim 4.50) id 1Dv7jH-0004G0-2Y; Wed, 20 Jul 2005 01:06:51 -0500 Did you ever get to the bottom of why the emails were blocked? Olly. |
|
#7
|
||||
|
||||
|
It looked to be a specific block on a range of IP addresses and ours just happened to be in it. I think they were able to get it fixed. I wasn't working that one in particular, but I believe the receiving client got their IT folks to fix it on their end.
Just curious, if it was IP based, now I'm thinking that it might have worked if I had remembered to have them try sending using a different smtp server (other than HG). Some ISP's do this anyway. I know road runner forwards mine even though I have the HG IP set as smtp. David |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
| Thread Tools | |
|
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.




HE-RSA-AES256-SHA:256)



